Abbeywell Surgery
The Abbey, Romsey, Hampshire, SO51 8ENContact details and opening times
Patient ratings and reviews
Leave a review
Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about Abbeywell Surgery.
Reviews
-
Review titled Abysmal
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Nick - Posted on 08 August 2023
Impossible to make an appointment. No appointments available yesterday so I tried to be the first call when they opened this morning and already all routine appointments had been taken. Then tried to book an urgent appointment and the message says the phone queue is full and I should call back later.
Visited August 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 12 March 2024
Dear Nick Thank you for your feedback Apologises for the delay in replying to your review I am sorry to hear of your difficulties in getting an appointment. We are continually looking at how we can improve patient access, Thank you for your patience whilst we do this If you require any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at either sites. Kind regards Leanne Barter Practice Manager
-
Review titled Very good
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 02 August 2023
I attended for my asthma review with the nurse. She was knowledgeable, kind and efficient. We discussed my asthma. She said she would discuss my condition with a GP. I have already received a text from the nurse to tell me GP has changed my preventive inhaler & asked that I return for a review in 4 weeks.
Visited August 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 13 May 2024
Dear Patient Thank you for your feedback which I will pass onto the relevant staff members Kind regards Leanne Barter Practice Manager
-
Review titled Inefficient recepitionist
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 04 July 2023
Abbeywell Surgery. After attending in person to book an appointment for a blood test ( advised in writing by an optician) and a Shingles jab I was given two appointments at different times, and different surgeries. (Surely both procedures could have been done in one visit surely) On traveling from outside of Romsey, attending Nightingale, I was told no appointment had been made , and there was no record of the second appointment on the system even though I had all details written on an appointment note given to me by the receptionist (i must point out this was not the person in training at the time) Wasted journey! Unbelievable!! Thankfully the person on duty at Nightingale has booked for me to have both procedures done together in a weeks time. Training and a review of more efficient procedures comes to mind!
Visited July 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 06 July 2023
Dear Patient, I am sorry to hear of your recent experience with the surgery. As you have not provided your details, I am unable to look in to this further. We would like to review what happened here and we request that you contact the surgery directly with your details to allow us to do so. Kind regards Abbeywell Surgery
-
Review titled Impossible to contact
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 25 July 2023
The only method of contacting this surgery is by phone. No email or econsult option - econsult shown on website and referred to in answerphone but does not work. Telephone wait is endless and that's if you can even get on the queue. Sometimes the line goes dead because the queue is full. 21 minutes ago I was caller number 9, now I am caller number 6. So 3 calls answered in 20 minutes I expect I will be on hold for another 40 minutes at this rate.
Visited July 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 01 March 2024
Dear Patient Thank you for your feedback I am so sorry you are having difficulties getting through to the surgery, we have employed more staff to answer calls coming in throughout the day. Econsult is available for admin queries via our website. Unfortunately I do not have your details to be able to contact you to discuss this matter further, please be reassured we are continually looking at many different avenues for safe patient contact Leanne Barter Practice Manager
-
Review titled Excellent practice
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Ivo Simon Tennant - Posted on 13 July 2023
I rang my surgery next to the Abbey in Romsey at 8.45 a.m. yesterday, received a prompt response; then sent through a photo of my afflicted area and a doctor texted me within minutes, advocating a remedy. This was most quick and efficient.
Visited July 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 12 March 2024
Dear Mr Tennant Thank you for your feedback, I will pass your comments on to the relevant team members Kind regards Leanne Barter Practice Manager
-
Review titled Very poor service
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 12 June 2023
I have a very serious and worsening mobility and pain problem and had a consultation with a doctor at the surgery regarding this on 1 June. I was told an urgent referral would be made to the hospital. 12 days later the particular hospital department said they have no record of the referral. On checking with the surgery, I am told the letter of referral is still with the secretaries. This was supposed to have been an urgent referral, not something that should be pending for 12 days! I am off to the emergency department right now as there is no help or care at this surgery!!
Visited June 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 01 March 2024
Dear Patient Thank you for your feedback I am so sorry for your recent experience with the surgery Unfortunately as I do not have your details I am unable to contact you to discuss this matter further, If you wish to discuss this matter please do not hesitate to contact the surgery Thank you Leanne Barter Practice Manager
-
Review titled Surpassed themselves.
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 19 June 2023
A few weeks ago I saw a doctor for painful legs. It was suggested that physiotherapy would be beneficial, and an appointment was made for last Saturday morning, at the Nightingale surgery. At 8am I was phoned by a male who asked me if I was attending the surgery that morning, then did I know what for, and did I expect to be treated. When I answered in the affirmative to all questions I was told that they didn't do physio there, so don't come. How can a doctor of that surgery book me in for a procedure that doesn't exist at that surgery? I was then told that someone would phone and 'sort me out'. I'm not holding my breath.
Visited June 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 01 March 2024
Dear Patient Thank you for your feedback I am so sorry for your recent experience Unfortunately I do not have your details to be able to contact you directly. If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact the surgery with your details Thank you Leanne Barter Practice Manager
-
Review titled Compassionate and caring
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 10 July 2023
I have been a patient at Abbeywell for a number of years and have always found doctors, nurses and receptionists very helpful. They always go the extra mile, even when they had to work extra hours under difficult conditions trying their best to give help to those who needed it. I feel they do an excellent job, thank you Abbeywell.
Visited May 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 14 August 2023
Dear Patient, Thank you for your kind words. This has been shared with the team who were thrilled! Kind regards Abbeywell surgery
-
Review titled Unable to contact
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 25 May 2023
Is there any way of re-instating the booking of blood tests through the Patient Access system, as I have been trying to get through on the phone system for a couple of weeks to book an INR, but either the queue and answer phone is full and I'm disconnected or as the appointments are all taken the answer messege is to try tomorrow. As I am in employment, I don't have time to keep calling back in the hope of getting onto the queue.
Visited May 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 06 July 2023
Dear Patient, Thank you for your comments. We have reviewed our appointment system and will be reinstated online booking for some services to ease the pressure on our phone lines. I am sorry to hear you faced difficulties with our phone lines. We are in talks with our telephone provider about this and we hope to be able to rectify this issue very soon. Kind regards Abbeywell Surgery
-
Review titled Disappointing service
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 11 August 2023
On 15th May 2023 a private physiotherapist wrote to the Surgery saying that I needed to be referred to the orthopaedic pathway for treatment for my hip pain. After a long delay I received I received a letter dated 19th June from the hip orthopaedic choice triage. I was told I needed a hip X-ray before they could see me. This was finally arrange at Southampton General hospital for July 28th. The results of the X-ray have still not been forwarded to the orthopaedic clinic. I have waited nearly 3 months , in considerable pain, to be seen and get some treatment for my hip pain. It cannot take this long for a simple administrative task! Luckily I have not needed to see a GP because even if you go down in person no appointment with any GP is available. What is happening to the service!
Visited May 2023
Review titled Abbeywell Surgery
Replied on 12 March 2024
Dear Patient Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am so sorry for your recent experience, Unfortunately as this review has been left as anonymous I am unable to assist your any further, If you would like to discuss this with me please feel to contact the surgery. Kind regards Leanne Barter Practice Manager