Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Wharf Road, Ash Vale, Surrey, GU12 5BAContact details and opening times
Patient ratings and reviews
Leave a review
Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale.
Reviews
-
Review titled Great practice, exceptional care
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Les - Posted on 27 September 2024
Luckily after a routine op, a possible urine infection led to the discovery of a tumour on my bladder. This was removed within 2 months. All the doctors were brilliant, likewise the staff at the surgery, always happy despite awful pressures. Many thanks
Visited June 2024
Review titled Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Replied on 01 November 2024
Dear Les Thank you so much for taking the time to add your comments on the site, it is much appreciated. I am glad to hear that you received prompt treatment and hope you are well on the road to good health. Regards Wendy Foster Practice Manager
-
Review titled Terrible service
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 22 April 2024
Came in to register my 88y old mother who has Alzheimer’s Disease. Told by the receptionist that they were not taking registrations today, explained that my father is in Frimley Park Hosptial (he is registered with your surgery) we had been advised by the ICT team at my mothers surgery for quality of care it would be better if my parents were registered at the same surgery (currently mum is registered in Farnborough and is actually out of their catchment area so would not get a visit from a GP or nursing team). The receptionist was adamant that she could not take the registration, even after again explaining that my mother is currently staying with me in Southampton and we had driven up for the day. She then said mum would also need photographic proof of id and a current bill with address - I would suggest that you read the current NHS guidelines which clearly state this is not needed to register with a GP. I will be driving up from Southampton on Wednesday and will attempt to register her once again.
Visited April 2024
Review titled Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Replied on 26 April 2024
Dear Anon. I am so sorry you have had this when you clearly worried about your parents. I am slightly confused as it appears that you are saying your mum is in Southampton. What would be her permanent address? If your dad is registered, I assume that their address is here? I would really appreciate if you could call and let me know who your parents are so that I can get clarity on what has happened and where everyone is living and then get to the bottom of why you were told this. Again, apologies that you had cause to use social media to complain. Yours sincerely Wendy Foster Practice Manager
-
Review titled Communication
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 18 March 2024
By phone there is not an option to speak to a human , I keep getting texts that as an analog user I cannot use internet links. I need a person to explain issues and I am not given the option as there is no message service on web site very very poor service.
Visited March 2024
Review titled Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Replied on 18 March 2024
Dear Anon Please can you call in to the Patient Service Managers and let them know who you are and we can make sure that you don't receive links for messages if your mobile isn't a smart phone. Of course you can call reception any time, but the late mornings and afternoons are quicker response times. Sorry you have had this experience. Yours sincerely Wendy Foster Practice Manager
-
Review titled How do they get away with this
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 25 January 2024
I have been at this practice for over twenty years, have used it a couple of times a few years ago, and you did get face to face consultation. I Phoned it this week to be told I can only get a phone appointment, how is this even allowed on the NHS. Absolutely disgusting!!!!!!
Visited January 2024
Review titled Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Replied on 18 March 2024
Dear Anon If you would like to contact our Patient Services' Manger, we can look into this further for you and understand why you weren't given a face to face. Yours sincerely Wendy Foster Practice Manager
-
Review titled Awful service online and in person
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 23 November 2023
I tried to make an appointment via their online service. Absolutely awful service. I spent 19 minutes trying to log in, having to change this password, remember my memorable word, got through and still couldn't understand how to make my appointment. And I am not online illiterate. Worse booking online service ever. So being extremely frustrated I ended up calling to make an appointment amd they only do over the phone triage as the reception doesn't make appointments but the doctors do. How am I meant to see the same doctor twice this way? It's an awful awful way of trying to take care of your health. You can only see a doctor if you have a phone call with then 1st. It's an awful way to do business. I have only had one good experience with a doctor from this practice and that one was over the phonetic, not even I person. On top of that, he building is awful from 1960's, feels like so clinical and cold, not a welcoming place at all and we won't even talk about the lack of parking. I think there are a total of 5 parking spots total? So you have to end up trying to park on the edge of the forest. Terrible service. Terrible triage practice. Can't see the same doctor twice even if you wanted to. Terrible online service. Terrible building and parking. Go somewhere else if you're want to be treated like a human being.
Visited November 2023
Review titled Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Replied on 27 November 2023
Dear Anon I'm sorry you had cause to complain. I have looked at all bits you have mentioned. I cannot help with you having issues with the NHS app as we do not run it. Maybe you could feedback to their team on those issues. Sometimes if patient come in, we can support them a little bit, but issues should be brought to the attention of the NHS App Support team. Regarding booking via the phone for an appointment. This depends on what time you called, who you wanted and when. If you felt it urgent for the day, and we've reached capacity, the GPs do ask for a telephone call initially and they will then see you face to face should that be necessary. Using this method they can contact more patients per day. However, you could advance book your slot if you wished. If you can give me details of who you are, I can look into this call with the receptionists and comment clearer for you. I am glad that you did have a good experience using the phone system to speak with a GP before. The building. What can I say? It is old and tired but it is owned by NHS property services so unfortunately we can't do much about it. There is a lack of NHS property across the country and although it is old, I'm grateful that we have the services for Ash Vale. The parking is what served a while ago and I agree that there should be more, there's just not enough land at the moment to facilitate that. I am sorry that you feel others should go elsewhere. Perhaps you could contact us and let us know your name and we can look further into your contact with the surgery. Yours sincerely Wendy Foster Practice Manager
-
Review titled Returning to being a good practice
Rated 4 stars out of 5
by Kenneth Church - Posted on 04 August 2023
We have been registered with the Ash Vale Health Center as it used to be named, now Bartlett Group, for 23 years. The practice did get very difficult to use up until quite recently with the system of calling at 8 am, being told you were no.23 in the queue etc. then getting even worse when "to save you waiting" it wouldn't even let you join the queue if there were more than a set number already waiting. However, with the call back service we have both found the practice to be greatly improved. An example from just last week, my wife called and left a call back request, a receptionist called back within 20 minutes and took details, within another 20 minutes she had a call from the doctor and was then able to attend a doctors appointment about half an hour after that, the doctor was extremely nice and very thorough, she rushed a prescription "to the cloud" (I do still prefer a piece of paper which is instant and removes the chance of going to a chemist only to find that it's not yet in the cloud), and so within 2 hours of the initial call my wife had her medicine. We were very impressed and wish you luck in recruiting enough GPs to return fully to your former status.
Visited July 2023
Review titled Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Replied on 07 August 2023
Dear Mr Church Thank you for taking the time to comment positively for us. I'm please that you are noticing a change and we are trying our hardest to do this for everyone. You can nominate a pharmacy when you need a prescription. It doesn't need to go to the cloud if you don't want it to. However, it is safer to be sent direct. Maybe if you'd like to nominate a chemist you like, then future medications, if needed can be sent there. Yours sincerely Wendy Foster Practice Manager
-
Review titled Some issues but GP was wonderful
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by D. Cooper - Posted on 16 June 2023
I understand issues at present (I work in education and feel the pressures too). As many others, I had problems gaining a GP appointment after a text from my doctor - an issue shown on a blood test. Initial receptionist said after my explanation (long queue), I could not book an advance appointment and to phone at 8.00 am on the days my doctor was working. I really tried hard during my working hours but to no avail. Surprisingly, I then, received a text from a second doctor with a date but no time mentioned. I replied to the link provided in the text to cancel. I work from 8.30am, all day. Text reply was not helpful or useful. I rang again and was in ‘the’ queue. I explained the dilemma of two doctors wishing to speak to me about the same issue. I asked to speak to my own doctor and was given ‘sometime’ in the morning on a day three weeks later. I asked to cancel the second doctor again (Why waste their time?). All appeared well. Lo and behold, I received three missed calls from the ‘cancelled’ doctor. My original (own) doctor did ring on the newly appointed day and was lovely, courteous, understanding and attentive as always. Future appointments were discussed, agreed and arranged via my doctor for further tests and consultations to discuss. A huge thank you and a relief. Doctors are working desperately hard as are many others, and are very much misunderstood and under appreciated re: expectations and workload. My suggestion to the practice however, would be further training of receptionists to truly and completely ‘listen’ to the actual person at the end of the phone at any given time. It must be difficult to deal with everyone wanting an appointment in this present state of affairs, but don’t always assume that the person at the end of the phone is not understanding. A text from a doctor is alarming and scary after test results. Reception must provide an appointment in advance so we can consult with our doctor as they have requested. Please, really and truly listen in order to accommodate the caller despite the stresses you may be facing in the role. We are individuals. We have different issues. We cannot be ‘tarred with the same brush’. With this in mind, it may lessen your own stressful role in the practice. So today, I am extremely relieved that I have had a consultation with my doctor. Despite knowing that she must be over-stretched, I was not rushed. My doctor reassured my long awaited concerns and was helpful and understanding as always. She organised further appointments in line with my working hours and availability. She reassured me that I was not ‘blacklisted’ after not answering the three missed phone calls from the second doctor, despite my efforts to cancel. A massive thank you. There is still faith in this system if we can get beyond Reception issues. Do, also consider our preferred option/request for contact per appointment and time (home/mobile). This in itself, may result in missed calls and ineffective time wasting.
Visited June 2023
Review titled Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Replied on 03 August 2023
Dear D Cooper Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on and we appreciate the positivity shown. If you could furnish me further with your details (do email/ call in) I can hopefully listen to the call where you felt that no one was listening to what you were saying. We are in the process of changing how appointments and access will look at our surgery and extra access within Surrey Heath as a whole. I have shared the other information with our Senior Partner regarding texts. Yours sincerely Wendy Foster Practice Manager
-
Review titled Impossible to get help
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 04 April 2023
I have been registered with this GP for 22 years, this is the worst it's ever been. It is almost impossible to see or speak with a GP. Even at 8am the online booking system fails, if you go in you are told to use the (non working) online system! You leave repeat prescription requests and nothing gets signed, you have to go in and chase. It feels designed to exclude you so that you either suffer, decline or self medicate. It is not fit for purpose.
Visited April 2023
Review titled Bartlett Group Practice - Ash Vale
Replied on 19 May 2023
Dear anon Sorry you feel that the service isn't up to what you would like. We are currently 30% down on our doctor numbers and staff recruitment is difficult to primary care, as it is for the whole of England's GP surgeries. Primary care is bursting and struggling with demand against staff joining. We are looking at the appointment systems and hopefully with some good news in the coming months for some recruitment, things are looking to ease a little. I would like the opportunity to look into your prescription issues and invite you to speak to Natalie our dispensary lead. Yours sincerely Wendy Foster Practice Manager