Modality Mid Sussex
Crawley Down Health Centre, Bowers Place, Crawley Down, Crawley, RH10 4HYContact details and opening times
Patient ratings and reviews
Leave a review
Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about Modality Mid Sussex.
Reviews
-
Review titled First impressions of a relatively new patient
Rated 1 star out of 5
by William Buckley - Posted on 29 June 2023
Having read the comments of your current reviewers, I must admit that I find the situation rather alarming ! As a recent transfer from Canbury Medical Centre, Kingston-Upon- Thames, I must state that the level of service between the two is like chalk and cheese ! So far I have been unable to get through on the phone because, the message states, you are experiencing a large number of phone calls? I would be interested to learn who is actually taking all these calls because, on each occasion I have visited the clinic the 3 ladies at reception are not manning the phones ? We are also informed that you are experiencing excessive demands from patients which has necessitated the making of appointments for the next three weeks and no further! With this in mind one should expect to see an overcrowded waiting room, but this has not been the case when my wife and I have called and, up to now, we have only ever seen one person waiting to see a doctor? Must we assume that the excessive amount of patients are entering through a rear door and bypassing the waiting room? We do understand that the NHS is struggling and we have the utmost respect and admiration for all NHS employees, but we are not totally convinced that the attitude of your admin staff is what it should be. On each occasion that we have called we have sensed a lack of empathy on the part of most of the reception ladies who seem more concerned with giving us bad news and turning us away! My wife is not well and has developed a continuous cough over the last two weeks, which called for the intervention of a doctor, in my opinion, but, on our visit on Monday we were told that you were fully booked and that we should go to Crawley Hospital ! I chose to speak to the local pharmacist with the hope that he could prescribe suitable medication but his advice was to see a doctor for fear she had a chest infection. When I told him there was no doctor available he told me to go back to the clinic and to inform your staff that he has recommended she consult a doctor that day! Unfortunately, your lady at reception was not interested and simply repeated that the clinic was fully booked. In my frustration I demanded to know just how many doctors were available and was informed that she did not know! Not good enough I am afraid and you need to get your house in order.
Visited June 2023
Review titled Modality Mid Sussex
Replied on 03 July 2023
Dear William Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that you are not happy with the service you have received. I would be happy to discuss your concerns with you. You can contact me using the following link https://www.modalitypartnership.nhs.uk/contact Kind regards Patient Experience Officer
-
Review titled Welcome improvement but why not implement it fully?
Rated 2 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 14 July 2023
Since Modality took over the practice, trying to get an appointment has been difficult - almost impossible by phone, often quite difficult in person and requiring two or more attempts. Consequently, I was quite pleasantly surprised to receive a reminder that a routine blood test was due which contained a booking link. That link worked and an acceptable booking was made. However, there was no apparent way to book a follow on appointment with the diabetic nurse for whom the routine blood test is intended. Why not? I am required to have blood tests every 6 months, followed by reviews with the diabetic nurse. Once a year, I'm also required to have a foot inspection, which can be combined with a blood test or review appointment. In addition to the regular appointments noted above, I'm due B12 injections every 12 weeks to address an ongoing auto-immune condition. I have to book those, generally trying a month in advance (when booking open) and having to revisit once or twice to get an appointment. The odd day or so out should make little difference but ideally needs to be near 12 weeks or less for maximum effect. Practice guidelines suggest B12 injections require 10 minute appointments. Nurses state 2-3minutes and can generally be slotted in between other appointments. So my questions : Why don't Modality send out reminders and links for all routine procedures (blood tests, diabetic reviews, injections etc)? Why don't Modality link appointments for test and associated reviews when sending out reminders for tests? Why require 10 minute appointment slots for a procedure which the nurses assess as a 2-3 minute job? When B12 injections are due in a similar timeframe to diabetic review or similar nurse led appointments why can't the two be combined? Combining/linking routine appointments and providing the facility to do that would not only relieve patient frustration but also the telephone load.
Visited June 2023
Review titled Modality Mid Sussex
Replied on 28 July 2023
Dear Patient I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the level of service at the practice. You are welcome to submit a feedback form on our website if you would like me to look into this further. https://www.modalitypartnership.nhs.uk/contact Kind Regards, Patient Experience Team
-
Review titled No Show problem
Rated 1 star out of 5
by V King - Posted on 21 June 2023
This is just a suggestion but prior to Modality taking over the practice, there was a system in place where the patient received a text reminder the day before their appointment. With the reported number of ‘no shows’ of over 500, reinstating this practice is surely worth a try?
Visited June 2023
Review titled Modality Mid Sussex
Replied on 28 July 2023
Dear V King We pride ourselves on listening to our patient’s concerns and making positive change where we identify this needs to happen. I would be grateful if you could contact us so as we can investigate why you have had a negative experience with us. You can contact us via the feedback form on our website. Please find the link below. https://www.modalitypartnership.nhs.uk/contact Kind Regards, Patient Experience Team
-
Review titled Appointment problems
Rated 2 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 07 June 2023
Just had a baby and I am meant to have a 6 week check but the appointment came through for 7 and half weeks. So waited for my appointment and cancelled on the morning and booked for over a week later making it an almost 9 week check. It’s so disappointing as we do have concerns we wanted to go through. The appointments at the doctors are getting beyond a joke and someone is going to end up in a bad way if the NHS don’t do something sooner.
Visited June 2023
Review titled Modality Mid Sussex
Replied on 28 July 2023
Dear Patient Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that you are not happy with the service you have received. I would be happy to discuss your concerns with you. You can contact me using the following link https://www.modalitypartnership.nhs.uk/contact Kind regards Patient Experience Officer
-
Review titled Excellent staff but appointment problem
Rated 3 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 27 May 2023
We as a family have been patients at Crawley Down Health Centre for over 30 years. The process for getting an appointment has never been ideal but has recently become very difficult. I recently wanted to make an appointment for something which I didn’t know was urgent or not but described symptoms to receptionist. I was given a phone appointment in over 2 weeks time. When I did receive the phone appointment I was given a face to face within an hour and hospital appointment for a scan the next day. Fortunately, all was OK but I worry about procedure where receptionist makes the call on how urgently you need to see a GP. We have always found the GPs and nurses to be excellent and feel for them as they are clearly under pressure due to staff shortages. I have recently been trying to book a screening test for which I have received two letters telling me to book an appointment. The receptionist is always very apologetic when I call but tells me there are no appointments available for screening tests as there are no staff available to do them. This week I received a reminder letter to book an appointment. There are clearly concerns about Modality and the appointment system but I think we all need to be mindful of the fact that this is not the fault of the staff who work at the surgery. I have the greatest respect for and trust in the doctors and nurses at the surgery and worry that negativity about the appointment systems is having an effect on them.
Visited May 2023
Review titled Modality Mid Sussex
Replied on 02 June 2023
Dear Patient I am sorry that when you contacted the surgery you could not be offered an appointment. We are currently experiencing increased demand on our services and only have a limited number of appointments available. Please be assured our clinicians are working to their full capacity and new appointments are available daily. Kind regards Patient Experience Team
-
Review titled Hopeless
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 20 April 2023
After being prescribed medication in January to resolve a couple of medical issues I was told to have a blood test in three months to see if it was working. Had bloods taken at the beginning of this month and informed they would take a week. Unable to get through on the phone (no surprise there!)I checked my Patient Access App and saw that one of the blood tests required hadn’t been done! Medication runs out in a week. The other test had been done but no indication as to whether it was ‘normal’ or ‘abnormal’ as had been shown in previous tests. Thought I’d send an e mail but it’s just a tick box form. This is just one in a series of appalling experiences over the last year of inability to get an answer or appointment. The entire practice is not fit for purpose.
Visited April 2023
Review titled Modality Mid Sussex
Replied on 12 May 2023
Dear Patient I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the level of service at the practice. You are welcome to submit a feedback form on our website if you would like me to look into this further. https://www.modalitypartnership.nhs.uk/contact Kind Regards, Patient Experience Team
-
Review titled Very happy with Crawley Down Surgery
Rated 4 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 01 May 2023
Unfortunately I have had several issues that have needed attention in April. I have been seen by two Doctors and also been referred under two week rule, having operation for another condition this Friday and have had a few telephone appointments and seeing MSK later this month. Personally I am very pleased with how I have been treated. Yes there is a wait on the telephone but if your problem is deemed urgent you do get seen. I like the new system where you can agree to be called back when it is your time in the queue.
Visited April 2023
Review titled Modality Mid Sussex
Replied on 12 May 2023
Dear Patient We are happy to see that you received great care from the surgery. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Kind regards Patient Experience Team
-
Review titled Terrible Practice
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Christina - Posted on 24 April 2023
I recently moved to Crawley Down and registered with the local practice. On my first attempt to make an appointment after waiting an hour to get through, I was told there were no appointments. I said i needed some antibiotics urgently but was told very curtly to ring 111 or go to Crawley Hospital. Feeling very unwell I then spent over three hours waiting to spend 2 minutes with a doctor. On another recent occasion I had been asked to contact the surgery to make an appointment for a prescription review. After an hour I eventually got through only to be told I couldn’t have an appointment until the 11 May. I explained that I couldn’t wait that long as I only had one tablet left. She was very abrupt and said ring again in the morning. I replied that would mean me waiting another hour to get through to which she replied “well you’ll have to get used to it”. I was very shocked and am now very concerned with the apathetic attitude of this practice. After sending two messages about the prescription I have still had no response. It took me over an hour to get through after I had been asked to
Visited April 2023
Review titled Modality Mid Sussex
Replied on 12 May 2023
Dear Christina Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am very sorry to see that you have had a negative experience with the Practice. If you would like me to look into this further, please can you contact me via our online website form? The link to the form is below. https://www.modalitypartnership.nhs.uk/contact Kind Regards, Patient Experience Team