The Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery
Factory Lane West, Halstead, Essex, CO9 1EXContact details and opening times
Patient ratings and reviews
Leave a review
Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about The Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery.
Reviews
-
Review titled Abysmal
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 07 October 2024
The online triage system (the only way to contact the surgery) was clearly built for the benefit of the surgery not the patient experience. Firstly the form is only accessible for certain hours - it’s a computer form so you should be able to register a case for triage anytime but no…. “Computer says no”. The form isn’t available before 8:30am and often becomes unavailable halfway through the day even while the surgery is open because too many people have completed the form. So what do you end up doing? You have to ring the surgery, wait an hour on hold only to be told to fill the form out. It’s an endless loop of poorly designed misery. You’re therefore forced to ring 111 who refer you back to the surgery, the surgery doesn’t want to deal with you so they refer you to the out of hours surgery in Colchester, not because it’s out of hours but because they don’t want to see you.
Visited October 2024
Review titled The Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery
Replied on 09 October 2024
Dear Patient I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with our triage system. We follow the Modern General Practice Model to improve access which involved setting up patient triage. Triage is open from 8am and closes when we reach capacity. Unfortunately, due to funding and recruitment issues, most GP surgeries are unable to offer unlimited appointments and have to shut triage when they reach capacity for the day. You are still able to contact the surgery when triage is closed. However, if all appointments have gone for the day, then we would not be able to offer you one. Please be assured that if you had an urgent problem on the day, the reception team would speak to the duty doctor to see if you needed an appointment. If you fill in your form early around 8am, you should be able to receive a triage outcome on the same day. We receive 96% positive feedback from our patients about the triage system and are very sorry that you have not had the same experience. If you wish to discuss this further, please email in your name and details to f81068.reception@nhs.net and our Operations Manager can contact you to discuss further. Kind regards Practice Manager
-
Review titled Ridiculous system!
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 12 June 2024
I understand the new system of filling out a Patient Triage Form and I happen to think this is a good idea but its absolutely ridiculous that you can only submit a form first thing in the morning as they close when they get to 'full capacity'. I don't need or want an appointment today. There needs to be a system in place to be able to make a appointment at a later date. People have to take the time off work not everyone can drop what they are doing to go that day!!
Visited June 2024
Review titled The Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery
Replied on 12 June 2024
Dear Patient I am sorry to hear you are not happy with our new Patient Triage System. Our triage system is currently open online Monday to Friday from 7.30am. Our telephones and doors open at 8.30am each day for those who need our assistance to submit a medical request. Our Duty Team assess capacity in real time, and we have required to suspend online access to ensure our team can respond to each request by the end of the working day and to continue safe clinical decisions being made. The Triage Team assess for urgency of each request and the outcome may be signposting to another service or for self care, advice there and then by text message, or if clinically necessary, an appointment will be offered either on the telephone or face to face, on the day or within 3 or 7 days. Although we are sometimes closing early, the Triage Team are busy dealing with the requests received from 7.30am all day. The system must be safe for our Triage Team to avoid being overwhelmed as they are making clinical decisions all day. Our telephone lines are open until our closing time of 6.30pm each day and our Care Navigator team liaise with the Duty Team with any urgent cases which we receive by telephone. Capacity remains a chronic issue for GP surgeries around the country due to financial pressures, and to which the new 2024/25 GP contract changes have placed additional pressures. We are not immune to these in Halstead and our secondary care colleagues locally are suffering unprecedented waiting times, resulting in patients returning to us on multiple occasions which in turn takes capacity away from others seeking help. Whilst a total triage system has aided us, this does not resolve the longstanding issues within primary care. We are happy to look into your record to view previous triage requests and discuss these with you if you would like to write in to our generic email address for the attention of Jennie Lancaster-Jones (Operations Manager) f81068.reception@nhs.net. Once again, I am sorry that you are disappointed in the service. I assure you we are doing the best we can with the resources we have available. Kind regards Carrie McSpadden Practice Manager
-
Review titled confused practice
Rated 3 stars out of 5
by Barbara Haythorn - Posted on 20 June 2024
I have been trying for 2 weeks to get an appointment or speak to a live person - no luck. I want a referral for a possible cochlea implant.I moved to this retirement village in the hope of meeting others, but my hearing aids are useless, so I`m not able to join in with activities all I want is to get this referral. please somebody help. I messaged admin. all they did was tell me to make an appoinrment - a joke. help
Visited June 2024
Review titled The Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery
Replied on 20 June 2024
Dear Mrs Haythorn Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you have been experiencing problems with our booking service. I have asked my colleague to look into this for you on Friday 21st June and fill in a triage form for you for the clinical team to assess. We will be in touch in this regard. Carrie McSpadden, Practice Manager
-
Review titled Poor practice
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 19 February 2024
Went in because I have been struggling with very bad bloating and feeling like I am being kicked in the left kidney. I wasctold to do a pregnancy test and get myself tablets to treat wind. GP didn't even know what wind-eze were. I avoid going to see a gp because I have had no help from this service. If it wasn't for 111 call the paramedics out to me on the Thursday, I wouldn't have gone. Oh and gp did not wear gloves when preforming an examination of my stomach!!!!
Visited February 2024
Review titled The Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery
Replied on 14 March 2024
Dear Patient I am sorry to hear you were not happy with your experience at the practice. I understand you have since contacted the practice by email and we are investigating this for you. Kind regards Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery
-
Review titled Accessing help on prescription problem
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 25 September 2023
Please explain the system between Colchester Hospital and the surgery. I was referred by the surgery and have the NHS app on my phone but my blood tests and new medications are not showing up on the app for my information. I also am being treated at Broomfield so will they show up? I need the GP to be able to refer to them. It has caused a problem in ordering prescriptions. Thank you
Visited September 2023
Review titled The Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery
Replied on 26 September 2023
Dear Patient Thank you for your comments. In order to investigate this further, please can you email the surgery at f81068.reception@nhs.net with more details along with your name and date of birth. I will then look into this for you. Kind regards Carrie McSpadden Practice Manager
-
Review titled Great practice and fantastic reception
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Danler Harmsen - Posted on 05 July 2023
I had an experience today that is unparalleled. I have been having issues with getting my repeat prescription from moving from one surgery to Elizabeth Court Surgery. I went down to the Surgery and explained the issues I had experienced and it had been incredibly difficult as it was related to mental health. The reception, especially one particular individual, was absolutely amazing and really came to my rescue, I mean that quite literally. I am very grateful to the extremely compassionate and professional staff in resolving my matter today and would recommend the expert services of Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery any day. Thank you so much for helping me through this difficult time.
Visited July 2023
Review titled The Elizabeth Courtauld Surgery
Replied on 06 July 2023
Dear Mr Harmsen Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you had a positive experience with the surgery and that our staff were able to quickly help you with your prescription. I have shared your review with staff and thank you once again for sharing your views. Kind regards Carrie McSpadden Practice Manager