Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
379-397 Croydon Road, Beckenham, Kent, BR3 3QLContact details and opening times
Patient ratings and reviews
Leave a review
Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre.
Reviews
-
Review titled Brilliant service
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by E Adams - Posted on 04 August 2024
Arrived first thing on a Sunday morning. Signed in, triaged and seen by appropriate medical professional within 30mins. People were friendly, efficient and helpful. I couldn’t fault the service. My medical needs were dealt with and I left happy and reassured. It was my first visit and after reading some of the awful reviews I was quite apprehensive….. one questions whether sometimes it’s the patients’ approach that initiates bad service and not the people doing a 12hr shift.
Visited August 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 21 August 2024
Thank you, for sharing your positive feedback. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we hope to continue providing this excellent service to all our patients. Wishing you good health! Many thanks Management
-
Review titled Very pleasant experience
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Anita - Posted on 30 August 2024
Lovely smiley helpful staff from reception to nurse. Couldn't have got better than this if we had paid for it. We were advised of wait times and the whole process to be seen and treated was quick today.
Visited August 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 28 January 2025
Dear Anita It's wonderful to hear about your positive experience! It sounds like the staff went above and beyond to ensure you felt welcomed and well-informed throughout your visit. Quick and efficient service can make such a difference. Your wonderful feedback will be passed on to the team. Many thanks Management
-
Review titled Dangerous Assumptions. Insults/discrimination by rude staff.
Rated 1 star out of 5
by James - Posted on 20 July 2024
I was sent to the centre to get a crutch or walking stick after an emergency drs appointment at Elmhouse, my GP and the pharmacist told me to go there to get a mobility aid due to my badly infected foot and swollen ankle. I was discriminated against and abused by staff, who made assumptions which have led to further pain and great distress from the anxiety caused to me. I had just returned from 7 hours of tests at Lewisham Hospital as there was a concern I had a stroke or there is a bad underlying cause for the swelling. The doctor saw pictures of the worsening swelling and infection in the foot and called me to come in urgently. I could not walk so my friend took me to Elmhouse, I was given painkillers and antibiotics but was worried how I'd get home as my friend had to go. My doctor and the Pharmacist both said to ask for a crutch or a stick at the urgent care centre. I was nervous as they were rude last time too. First, the receptionist said I would have to be processed and wait to be seen by the nurse and then the doctor, though I'd just been seen by the GP. I was in much pain and had a phone appointment to get home too, I told them this. I said the GP had seen me and the hospital. I'd received my prescription, and the swelling was causing great pain pressing against my slipper. I waited 40 mins to be polite then said I had to go, being late for my appointment now. The receptionist told me to knock on the nurse's door. I went in and told them the issue/why I was there she wrote it up then said she'd go to the back and ask a doctor. I was taken to the back, where a doctor I've seen before who was really rude to me last time, shouted I'm not seeing him now he can wait. I said 'Sorry I can't wait I have to go, but I don't need to see a doctor I just need a crutch or mobility aid' Then a man came out and said 'It's inappropriate you ask for a crutch, you have no boney injury and you are walking' I was extremely shocked as he continued to be rude to me with no knowledge of my condition, my bone infection, intense pain and difficulty walking. How the doctor and pharmacist had sent me there, limping and holding surfaces to walk was causing my back pain to worsen I'd been using a stick and a mop to walk but had no idea how I'd get home. All I could say is it was very inappropriate to assume my condition. He said I could walk fine, I obviously could not, they then raised their voices and said I could go online and buy a crutch and I don't need one. They left me feeling discriminated against, in pain, and struggling to get home. They had no idea I'd been in hospital having suffered a potential stroke, that I was in major pain, barely able to wear slippers as the foot and ankle are so swollen you cannot see the joints anymore. The doctor said my joints are infected so it is a bone issue unlike what the man assumed having just started insulting me. Faced with this bullying I limped out. I would advise Everyone else to stay away.
Visited July 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 27 February 2025
I'm sorry to hear about your experience at the UTC BB. Our policy requires that every patient visiting the unit must be booked in. Since we are not part of Elm House, they should have informed you that visiting urgent care would require booking in, as we do not provide crutches without a consultation. This ensures you receive the correct crutches and that your records are updated accordingly. I apologise for any feelings of discrimination you may have experienced. The team could have handled the situation better, and I hope this does not deter you from visiting our unit in the future if needed. Many thanks Management
-
Review titled Don't bother phoning 111 first
Rated 1 star out of 5
by CathMof - Posted on 14 July 2024
No point in phoning 111. When I called at around 9:00 am I was given an "appointment" time at 2:30pm. When I arrived i was told that it was in fact an arrival time and I would have to wait up to 4 hours to be seen. It was so crowded there was no where to actualyl sit down - people were crammed in and sitting on the floor. Also being close to other ill people for 4 hours in a very hot environment is surely a great way to spread infection. I cannot understand that "system". It seems far more efficient to work off appointments when sent in via 111 and that would surely encourage people to call 111 first.
Visited July 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 21 August 2024
Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, we are a walk-in service and cannot control the number of patients who visit the unit. As you may have noticed, the unit is quite small, which is why it can become crowded. Patients have the option to wait outside in their cars or in the main waiting area. Additionally, you can call your GP for an appointment, as they operate on an appointment-only basis. Many thanks Management
-
Review titled Rude receptionist
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Julie Stabler - Posted on 07 August 2024
I took my extremely unwell 18 year old daughter to the beckon this morning, upon check in the receptionist had a rude and abrupt tone. As my daughter has a throat abscess and was unable to even swallow let alone talk I stayed with her . The receptionist said she’s an adult and that I could not accompany her and to wait outside the building . I chose not to listen to her as my daughter was anxious and unwell . We were then transferred to Lewisham A&E where I can say all Staff have been kind and allowed me to stay with my daughter the whole time without question . I never understand why people chose to do a job such as hospital reception if you clearly have no people skills .
Visited July 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 21 August 2024
I apologise for your experience and understand your frustration. Due to the limited size of our waiting area, it is reserved for patients only, as they often end up standing while family members are seated. We offer patients the option to wait in their cars if they have one, or in the main reception area if they need to stay together. Notices are posted throughout the unit to inform patients of this policy. However, I apologise for the rudeness of our receptionist. This matter will be addressed with our team to ensure they remain kind and professional at all times. Management
-
Review titled Brilliant and kind service
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Grace Hockold - Posted on 15 July 2024
Receptionist was kind and patient. Friendly doctor who was very knowledgeable and helpful. Really quick to be seen and prescription was fast
Visited July 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 21 August 2024
Thank you, for sharing your positive feedback. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we hope to continue providing this excellent service to all our patients. Wishing you good health! Many thanks Management
-
Review titled Could be better service Reception
Rated 4 stars out of 5
by Mr Mrs - Posted on 14 June 2024
Reception could be more welcoming. Triage door left open l did express the door should be closed personal details are being taken nurse said it only takes a short time. When your name is being called by the doctor or nurse they should come round to where people are sitting, my husband is deaf and wears earing aids l was with him did not hear his name called . The doctor was very professional with my husband very helpful and explained what was wrong .
Visited June 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 21 August 2024
I’m sorry to hear about your experience with the triage door being left open. We always encourage our clinicians to ask patients if they prefer the door closed. Given our small waiting area, it can be challenging. We will remind our doctors to come to where patients are sitting, especially for those with hearing difficulties. Wishing your husband good health. Management
-
Review titled Bad service
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Kay - Posted on 15 May 2024
I attended the urgent care centre today after being referred to them by 111 due to chronic back pain which had led to my hip and down my right leg with my leg getting more numb as time went on. Once I had seen the triage nurse and my details had been taken I waited 45 minutes to be seen which is fine. It was what happened next that floored me and left me feeling very angry and upset I was told they weren’t able to help with my pain and they could only test my urine for blood in case it was a kidney infection which I know it wasn’t as I suffer with them all the time and told me they couldn’t give me any pain relief or examine me so I left the urgent care centre feeling very stressed which then lend me to have a seizure due to my epilepsy and I’m now left in even more pain. Very disappointed
Visited May 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 12 June 2024
I am very sorry for your experience, please kindly call us on 01689866037 so we can investigate further. Many thanks UTC Management
-
Review titled Lazy doctors
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 16 May 2024
I came in with massive stomach pain which I’ve had for over a week and waited around for 2 hours for the doctor to give me a dirty look and tell me to book an appointment with my GP which takes two weeks so thanks for no help at all
Visited May 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 12 June 2024
I am very sorry for your experience, please kindly call us on 01689866037 so we can investigate further. Many thanks UTC Management
-
Review titled Prompt and professional
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Eileen - Posted on 30 May 2024
Attended with what turns out to be a wrist fracture. Triaged, x rayed and treated within the hour. Fantastic service by all
Visited May 2024
Review titled Beckenham Beacon Urgent Care Centre
Replied on 12 June 2024
Thank you, for sharing your positive feedback. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, and we hope to continue providing this excellent service to all our patients. Wishing you good health! Nyaradzo Nyandoro Service Development and Performance Manager
Information supplied by Greenbrook Healthcare (Hounslow) Limited