Skip to main content

Barnby Gate Surgery

50 Barnby Gate, Newark, Nottinghamshire, NG24 1QD

Contact details and opening times

Patient ratings and reviews

Leave a review

Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about Barnby Gate Surgery.


Reviews

Displaying 11 to 20 of 21

  1. Review titled Getting appointment is like winning lottery

    Rated 1 star out of 5

    by Prakasan - Posted on 03 January 2024

    Getting somebody unwell in the family is one of my nightmare because need to call GP. I already experienced this in 2024. My son is experiencing chest infection and fever and begged for an appointment and instruction was to go to urgent care. They said junior doctors strike is one of the reason for not having any appointment, I don't get why Junior doctors strike is affecting the surgery . I reported this last year as well and the feedback was surgery is adding more doctors and nursed to their team and I do not see any improvement. I am helpless and I do not know what else to do.

    Visited January 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 03 January 2024

    Dear Prakasan Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry you are finding it difficult to get an appointment for your son. Unfortunately the junior doctor strikes do impact on us as we have trainee doctors in the practice who see patients, the strike this week means we have lost 60 appointments. In addition to this we have a GP absent today due to a respiratory illness, he was due to be our duty doctor. We are working hard to fill the gaps including our other GPs working additional hours and trying to obtain short term locums to help. We have also alerted the ICB (who commission and oversee our services) that we are on red alert today due to the staffing issues we are facing. Overall we have increased the number of GPs at the Practice from the number we had last year and we are aiming to recruit another one in the next three months which we hope will improve appointment availability. Once again, my apologies that you have been unable to get the care you need for your family member, we do now have locum appointments available for the rest of this week.

    Report as unsuitable


  2. Review titled Brilliant Surgery

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Eileen Aldridge - Posted on 20 October 2023

    I joined this surgery in September, having struggled with an issue all summer. The doctors have sorted the medical issue out, as you would expect. However my experience with the reception and clerical staff has been amazing. They listened, were kind and courteous and made sure I was referred quickly to the appropriate people. It makes such a difference to patients when the staff are obviously well trained, the systems work well and everybody is so very helpful and friendly. Thank you all so much. xx

    Visited October 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 23 October 2023

    Dear Eileen Thank you very much for your comments, it is lovely to hear that the whole team have worked together to help. I will pass your comments on to the team. Kate Hunter Business Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  3. Review titled Good follow up

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Trevor Jacobs - Posted on 13 October 2023

    One of your staff followed up my inquiry this morning and took the time to message me with timely advice. I was impressed by the diligence that allowed me to save both the NHS and myself from much valuable time being wasted.

    Visited October 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 16 October 2023

    Dear Mr Jacobs, I'm delighted we were able to help you and will pass on your comments to the staff involved. Kate Hunter Business Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Impossible to get through

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Pete - Posted on 15 September 2023

    It’s 17:00 and I’ve been in a queue slowly counting down from number 15 to make a general enquiry. I’m currently number 4 in the queue and have now been waiting for 1 hour and 15 minutes. This surgery is appalling and I should be able to charge my phone bill directly to them after 15 mins of waiting, that might encourage them to do something about It. I suspect even when I do get through then I’ll have to go in and see them. There won’t be any appointments available of course so will have to phone up again tomorrow morning. This really is not good enough and something needs to be done about this place and other NHS areas.

    Visited September 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 18 September 2023

    Dear Pete Thank you for your feedback. I suspect that you were trying to call us on Friday 15th September, we had significant staff shortages that afternoon due to sickness which did mean our ability to answer calls promptly was impacted. I am sorry you were affected by this and we are looking again at our contingency plan to try and reduce the impact should this happen again. We have recently made changes to our appointment system which enable you to book routine GP appointments online via the NHS App, we are encouraging patients to use this if they can so it keeps the lines free for those who cannot go online. Patients can also request repeat prescriptions and submit other administrative queries online which helps reduce the number of calls into the practice. Once again, apologies for the delays you experienced. Kate Business Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  5. Review titled Excellent service

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 09 August 2023

    From phoning the surgery to completing my appointment it took less than one hour. A super polite and accommodating receptionist making it a pleasing experience. Thank you.

    Visited August 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 10 August 2023

    Hi, thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that you had a good experience of the practice. We have shared your comments with our team.

    Report as unsuitable


  6. Review titled Thank yoy

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Chris - Posted on 05 July 2023

    A huge thank you to the doctor and on-site paramedic who helped me when I passed out outside the surgery

    Visited July 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 07 July 2023

    Hi Chris Thank you for your comments, we are really pleased we were able to help you and hope you are feeling better now. I will pass your comments on to the doctor and paramedic involved.

    Report as unsuitable


  7. Review titled Invalid email address

    Rated 3 stars out of 5

    by Denise - Posted on 25 July 2023

    I recently wrote a review stating the unacceptable way I had been treated by the receptionists at the surgery regarding a booked appointment. I was sent an email apologising for this and an email address which I was to use to provide further information so the surgery could investigate what went wrong. This email link was invalid, and my email was returned to me! I feel that I've been kicked twice.

    Visited July 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 26 July 2023

    Hi Denise I am so sorry for the typo in the original response, please email us on: nshccg.c84009@nhs.net

    Report as unsuitable


  8. Review titled Reception

    Rated 1 star out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 20 July 2023

    Mum went to surgery to get Hol vacination,only to be told By a rude receptionist, that she can’t be vaccinated until 6 weeks,mum did explain she leaves in august and it would be enough time,receptionist did not listen,,mum panicked and went to boots,paid for vacination with money that she had to borrow,,,

    Visited July 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 20 July 2023

    I am sorry you have had this experience and that your Mum felt our receptionist was rude. We do need 6 weeks notice to do vaccinations as we need to check the medical record to understand current vaccination status, check what is recommended by the NHS for the travel destination and ensure we have the vaccines in stock and a nurse appointment available. Our website does say to make sure you book well in advance but we will update this to state 6 weeks.

    Report as unsuitable


  9. Review titled Highly disappointed

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Chris - Posted on 05 July 2023

    This is not re a general practitioner, It relates to my experience in trying to speak to a GP or medic or the surgery pharmacist. I was prescribed Naproxin approx 3 weeks ago for arthritis symptoms, taking 500mg twice daily. This certainly helped. However, for the past 2 or 3 nights I have suffered confusion, extreme tiredness prone to falls and unable to sleep. Being very concerned,I phoned the surgery this morning at 9am, when I got through the receptionist could not hear me and promptly cut me off. I then phoned again only to be cut off after waiting for 1 hour! Amazing system. I decided to visit the surgery later around 2.15pm and spoke to a Care Navigator, explained my situation and she was sympathetic and said there was no one available to speak to today. But I could phone in the morning again or get there for 8.30am tomorrow to book a tel call, I explained the mornings were a very difficult time for me due to pain from arthritis. I stressed that both myself and my husband were very worried about the effects of Naproxin is having after taking 2nd daily dose at 9pm and felt that this was urgent. The only other appt, I believe a telephone appt, was on 18th July. I am loath to stop this medication suddenly prior to medical advice and of course I really need pain relief. I understand times are very difficult, but they are for your patients too, who really need your medical support, advice, understanding and just some time.......please. Thank you.

    Visited June 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 07 July 2023

    Dear Chris I am very sorry you have had a difficult time getting the care your husband needed and thank you for raising it. I am not sure when the situation arose, but we changed our appointment system on 26th of June and now no longer ask patients to call back the next day. We have a lot more pre-bookable appointments available which patients can book online, by phone or in the surgery. As a result of the changes we are finding a lot of patients are now choosing to book online which means we have seen a significant reduction in phone calls which is making it easier for patients who don't have online access to contact us by phone. We have also aligned the number of appointments we have for patients who need to be seen the same day to the expected demand so it easier for you to see a clinician that day if your need is urgent. I hope you have managed to get the help you need and that next time you contact the practice you have a better experience as a result of these changes.

    Report as unsuitable


  10. Review titled Good/ Practice Move

    Rated 4 stars out of 5

    by S McCarthy - Posted on 31 May 2023

    Generally, we are fortunate to have experienced doctors and staff who try hard to meet demands whilst having increasing workloads and expectations. The move to better premises (along with the Fountain practice) can only be beneficial to all. My one suggestion is that this is an opportunity to update and change the telephone recorded message system. The electronic 'voices' need to be listened to in order to know why this would be a good thing to change. Best wishes

    Visited May 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Barnby Gate Surgery

    Replied on 05 June 2023

    Thank you for your positive comments, we are also looking forward to moving where we will have more space which will enable us to provide more services for patients. We will soon be changing our appointment system to having more pre-bookable appointments and as part of this we will be reviewing all our telephone messages, so they will change before the end of June.

    Report as unsuitable