City Walls Medical Centre
St. Martins Way, Chester, Cheshire, CH1 2NRContact details and opening times
Patient ratings and reviews
Leave a review
Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about City Walls Medical Centre.
Reviews
-
Review titled Well done!
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by George - Posted on 17 March 2025
Over the past four weeks I have received brilliant service for my medical issues. The initial Patchs booking resulted in a face-to-face consultation within 24 hours and, since then, the GP has maintained support with additional meetings in surgery. Those I met at Reception as well as on the phone were cheerful and helpful; they made me feel welcome. The doctor was empathetic, giving me a sense of co-ownership of his diagnoses and his advice was clear and unambiguous. The courses of treatment have resulted in positive outcomes and my good health has been restored. Overall, then, excellent service from the dedicated team at City Walls. Thank you.
Visited March 2025
City Walls Medical Centre has not yet replied.
-
Review titled Appointment System
Rated 3 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 31 December 2024
So l went on Patches at 0711 and left information saying that mobile phone coverage where l live can be sporadic and to contact by SMS. At 1010 l got a SMS telling me that they had tried to telephone me and to phone them to make an appointment.Presumably the number they gave is the normal number as it took me until midday to get through and get an appointment for the next day.ln the 5 hours it took to get an appointment l could have walked to the surgery and spoken to them in person.l am not sure who the appointment system is designed for but it doesn’t seem to the patient. Once you get to see a medic the service is good.The appointment system is shockingly bad
Visited December 2024
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 07 January 2025
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I'm sorry to learn of the frustrations you experienced when trying to arrange an appointment. Our telephone system can accommodate up to 20 people in the queue before the lines become busy. This limit was determined through testing, which found that allowing 20 patients to queue strikes the best balance between minimising the occurrence of an engaged tone and keeping wait times within acceptable limits. The telephone system also offers a callback feature that allows you to keep your place in the queue. When you reach the front, the system will call you back, saving you from having to wait on the phone until one of our reception staff is available to assist you. Full details of how our appointment system works including why we introduced these changes can be found here: https://www.citywallsmedicalcentre.co.uk/appointment-system-explained/ Over 90% of the monthly feedback received has been rated as Very Good or Good, and this rating has been maintained for the past 18 months since these changes were implemented. I'm pleased to hear you are satisfied with the service provided by our clinicians. Thank you once again for your feedback. Please don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any further concerns or questions. Kind regards, Pete Williams Practice Manager
-
Review titled Impossible to get an appointment
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Jessica - Posted on 14 October 2024
The practice website insists you attempt to make an appointment via patches. This site is poorly laid out, hard to navigate and freezes regularly. I tried to make an appt 7/10, filled out a bot survey for several minutes. Got a message back 8/10 from Gp via Patches asking for more information which I provided the same day (8/10). No response so today I ring surgery who apologised. Advised they could not book me an appt but that someone would call me back today. Now surgery closed and no call! All I want is an appointment with my Dr!
Visited October 2024
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 28 October 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I apologise for the difficulties you experienced while trying to make an appointment. While I understand the frustration you may have felt, I can confirm that the surgery was not closed at the time you left your review. Our team returned your call later that same day and arranged an appointment for you as required. I'm sorry to learn of the problems you experienced with Patchs. Although it's managed by an external service provider, we are aware that their development team is actively working on improving both the user interface and overall user experience. Thank you once again for your feedback. Kind regards, Pete Williams Practice Manager
-
Review titled Service
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Kevin - Posted on 11 September 2024
After filling patches in in depth ,taking into account my illness is hereditary in pain has to see dr to get referred ,only to be told booked in 4weeks time.who selects appointments,this practised is broken but as reported nobody there waiting to see drs.Once a busy practice no more ,something is not right drs working elsewhere I guess certainly not here ,it was such a good practice.
Visited September 2024
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 12 September 2024
Hi Kevin, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to learn that you're not happy with our appointment system. Full details of how our appointment system works including why we introduced these changes can be found here: https://www.citywallsmedicalcentre.co.uk/appointment-system-explained/ We introduced these changes in June 2024 and since then we've maintained a 90+% feedback rating of Very Good or Good. A GP triages all appointment requests and decides whether they require an urgent appointment or routine. If you're unhappy with the decision, you can contact us to explain why and the decision will be reviewed. The waiting room may appear quieter than previously because many appointments can now be dealt with over the phone, and may not require a face-to-face appointment.
-
Review titled Brilliant Service at City Walls!
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by David - Posted on 17 February 2025
Within two hours of contacting the practice, I was sitting down with a GP to discuss my condition. I had returned from the Caribbean two days before, not feeling re-invigorated from the sunshine but instead lacking in energy, feeling constantly tired, and experiencing dizzy turns. It was this loss of balance that most worried me. I knew I couldn't hope for an early appointment, but that's exactly what I got and I'd like to thank everyone at City Walls. Reception was friendly and the GP was superb. I didn't feel rushed during the consultation. The GP took his time to find out more, listened meaningfully and conducted various tests. His manner was reassuring and his diagnosis not only put my mind at ease but gave me a better understanding of the problem. I left with a positive plan of action, a prescription and a renewed sense of optimism. Thank you. Full marks to City Walls!
Visited February 2024
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 17 February 2025
Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent experience at City Walls. We greatly value your insights and are pleased to learn that you received prompt attention upon contacting our practice. It is encouraging to hear that you felt supported by our reception team and that your consultation with the GP was thorough and reassuring. We strive to ensure that our patients feel heard and understood, and it is gratifying to know that the GP's approach and diagnostic efforts contributed positively to your understanding of your condition. I will gladly convey your kind words to our staff, as they will appreciate knowing that their efforts made a meaningful impact on your visit. Thank you again for your thoughtful review, and we wish you all the best in your recovery. Kind regards, Pete Williams Practice Manager
-
Review titled Fustration
Rated 2 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 05 January 2024
When I finally get to talk to reception generally very good,but not all as helpful.Today I've spent 2 hours trying to log in a simple !! System patches. I get to the end then it freezes up welcome to patches city walls comes up then nothing.Ive called city walls twice with waiting call is 14 or 12 no thanks. I've discovered I'm not the only one having trouble as many have called city walls who talked them through it if only ,easy things made so difficult .
Visited January 2024
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 06 January 2024
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you've had a poor experience with Patchs. I can understand how frustrating it can be when things don't work as expected. Please know that we take your feedback very seriously and will be investigating this issue to see if I can discover what may have led to it freezing up. All patients that are unable to use Patchs may continue to contact the Practice by dropping in to reception or giving us a call. You can find more information about our appointment system here: https://www.citywallsmedicalcentre.co.uk/appointment-system-explained/ I also wanted to let you know that we have a callback feature on the phone that can keep your place in the queue and call you back when you reach the front of the queue. This will help save you from waiting on the phone until one of our reception staff are available to take your call. Thank you again for your feedback, and please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any further concerns or questions. Kind regards, Pete Williams Practice Manager
-
Review titled Brilliant GP Practice
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Glenys Murphy - Posted on 02 November 2023
Whenever I ring the surgery I am immediately greeted by a receptionist with a lovely genuine greeting - both practices are great but the Saughall centre is especially good. All GP’s are brilliant working under extreme pressures- when I am booked for an appointment whether it is face 2 face or telephone, it is usually on time give or take 10 minutes. I have never felt rushed or made to feel as though I have wasted anyone’s time and feel lucky that we have such a valuable asset in our village. Excellent patient care from everyone
Visited November 2023
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 06 November 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have had a positive experience with our GP Practice. We appreciate your kind words regarding our receptionists and doctors who are working under extreme pressure to provide excellent patient care. It is always great to receive positive feedback, and we are grateful that you have taken the time to share it with us. If you have any further feedback or suggestions, please do not hesitate to get in touch. Thank you once again for your kind words.
-
Review titled Such a relief.
Rated 4 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 01 August 2023
In my appointment today, I was seen by an excellent doctor. She was kind, patient and listened to me, resulting in sorting out treatment for what had been worrying me. Thank you.
Visited August 2023
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 06 November 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you had a beneficial appointment with one of our doctors who provided you with the care and attention you needed. We are always here to help you with any health concerns you may have. Thanks again.
-
Review titled Fast and efficient
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Paul - Posted on 22 August 2023
Contacted City Walls medical practice via NHS “Patches” app at 08:39, appointment same day at 11:05 and exploratory tests scheduled - great service.
Visited August 2023
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 06 November 2023
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate your kind words and are glad to hear that you had a great experience with City Walls Medical Centre.
-
Review titled Downhill.
Rated 3 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 22 July 2023
Used to be a great doctors but since covid has really gone downhill. This new system they have implemented makes a lot of assumptions about people, they are tech savvy, can use a computer, have a smartphone, do not have any conditions which may interfere with any of the above, eg may be older, poor eyesight, arthritis, no-one to help them etc, etc. Ever thought people don't want to do everything online or apps????? Oh and something else comes to mind, you have to answer 8 questions on route to getting an appointment.... who reads these answers, not sure I want personal problems out in front of anyone. What's happened to Doctor-Patient confidentiality? This new system is a bad idea, it will stop me bothering with the doctors, which is what they want. This stinks of trying to put you off going to the doctors. Awful
Visited July 2023
Review titled City Walls Medical Centre
Replied on 24 July 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. All feedback, both positive and negative is taken on board to help us improve our services. We appreciate your concerns regarding the new system but can assure you that these were all taken into consideration before making the change. All patients without internet access, that struggle to use it, or who are unfamiliar with the process can continue to call the surgery as before. One of the benefits of the new system is that most initial patient requests are now via an online form freeing up the telephone lines for urgent calls and for those patients previously mentioned. In regard to the questions, it's important to note that any information you share with us is recorded in your medical records and is used to assist the triaging GP to signpost your request to the appropriate clinician or service. It is also used to assist your clinician during your appointment. Rest assured that our team is bound to confidentiality rules. We take any breach of confidentiality very seriously and will ensure that all necessary actions are taken. You can find more information about our new system on our website: https://www.citywallsmedicalcentre.co.uk/appointment-system-explained/ https://www.citywallsmedicalcentre.co.uk/appointments/