GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
1500 Warwick Road, Solihull, West Midlands, B93 9LEContact details and opening times
Patient ratings and reviews
Leave a review
Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery.
Reviews
-
Review titled Zero Appointments
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 01 December 2023
I've called, claimed in queues of 36 plus. Many occasions the phone has cut off, when I get through there simply is nothing and I'm told to go to Solihull Hospital walk ins. When you go directly to the practice, you're left feeling awkward and embarrassed after having to state your problem to the whole room awaiting their turn, but still find there are no appointments to offer. To this day I've not been able to get an appointment with them so accepted defeat and gave up.
Visited August 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 15 December 2023
Dear Patient Thankyou for your feedback, I am a site manager for GPS Healthcare. Firstly, may I apologise for the recent experience you have had with us and the call wait times and appointment booking system. GPS Healthcare strive to ensure that the needs of patients are met, if not exceeded, in relation to the ability to see or be contacted by a Doctor, Nurse or any other clinician. We strive to ensure that there are an adequate number of appointments available to patients and generally this works well. We do listen to feedback from patients and we have recently introduced a new appointment system which will increase the number of on the day appointments as well as a shorter waiting time for appointments to become available for both face to face and online appointments, this will also include later appointment times with Doctors. We understand and empathise with patients, however appointment availability and current demand in order to suit everyone’s particular need is not always possible. General Practice across the Country face the same challenges and GPS Healthcare is not isolated in this. We endeavor to provide an excellent service and to all intents and purposes do so. We thank you for your feedback and hope that your next interaction with the Practice is a more positive one. If you have any queries or questions in the meantime please do not hesitate to contact us on 0121 796 2777
-
Review titled Great Experience
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 23 June 2023
Needed to see a GP, rang Knowle Surgery at 8:05, a recording informed there were over 30 callers ahead of me. I could have used ring back service, which has worked well previously, but decided to stay online. Took 20 minutes for call to be answered by a lovely receptionist who asked a few questions and then advised I had an appointment at 15:20 at my usual surgery, Knowle. How fantastic. Having so many other callers ahead of me I was surprised and delighted to be seeing a GP that day. GP called me in for the consultation right on time, no delay and in his usual friendly, calm manner got to the nub of the problem. He was very thorough with his questions and examination he then prescribed medication clearly explaining potential side effects. Although unlikely of anything further wrong he wanted to be sure so requested a sample and arranging a scan. Both the receptionist and GP really could not have been more helpful, understanding and thorough. What wonderful service from start to finish, thank you.
Visited June 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 03 July 2023
Dear Patient, thank you for your feedback, I am glad you recieved a great service at every contact. I will send this to the site manager who can share the feedback with the colleagues. I am happy to hear you were seen and having the suppport you need in your healthcare going forward. Many Thanks Balvinder Devi Compliance and Governance Manager
-
Review titled Finally given up and am moving Surgeries
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 07 July 2023
I have been with this surgery for over 30 years and it has got worse and worse to the point where it is now appalling. You cannot get an appointment at 8 even after queuing for over an hour, you cannot now book a non emergency appointment so it is impossible to get to see a doctor. I used my full data allocation on 1 day queing for 1.5 hours at 8 then again at 2 and still couldnt get an appointment. They have lost my daughters bloods, given us incomplete prescriptions, failed to follow advice given by a hospital doctor, completely failed in their duty of care to my son . Enough is enough surely another surgery has to be better than this
Visited June 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 10 July 2023
Dear Patient, My name is Balvinder Devi, I am the Compliance and Governance Manager, I am very sorry for your recent experience, please can you email me your concerns so that I can help you resolves some of your queries, unfortunately this has come up as anonymous and therefore I cannot look into the concerns you have mentioned. If you email: blythepractice@nhs.net and address to me then I can look into your concerns. Many Thanks Balvinder Devi Compliance and Governance Manager
-
Review titled Unable to get prescription
Rated 2 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 09 June 2023
I need a prescription of Omeprazole or a conversation with my GP about a more permanent treatment. I have tried multiple times to book an appointment but because I’m working at 8am it is basically impossible to get one if I’m calling later on in the day . I haven’t been allowed to book an appointment for a future date either so there is no solution. I have always previously rung up and requested another prescription if I’ve ran out but this time I wasn’t allowed and was told to send an email. I have searched everywhere online and there is no email address for this surgery. Shambles. I guess I’m never being seen to or cared for.
Visited June 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 12 June 2023
Dear Patient, thank you for your feedback, my name is Balvinder Devi I am the Compliance and Governance Manager, I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and the fact that the you are having trouble getting an appointment. I will send your feedback to the site manager who will be able to take a closer look at the appointment system and what has happened. I would like to reassure you that we constantly monitor our telephony and appointment data and look for innovative ways to improve the service. The email address is on the website: https://www.gpshealthcare.co.uk/surgery-information---all-sites-have-disabled-access if you send an email to: blythepractice@nhs.net and address it to me I will look into this myself Many Thanks Balvinder Devi Compliance and Governance Manager GPS Healthcare
-
Review titled No appointments, don’t answer phone
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Merrick Catherine - Posted on 16 June 2023
Four occasions I have phoned for an appointment, held for 30 minutes and been cut off. I have also been cut off by receptionist after being told no appointments available. Told twice to ring in the morning to try for an appointment, but none available. I work full time and calling at 8 is difficult. It has felt like I’m being out off making an appointment. Feels impossible to see a doctor.
Visited June 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 19 June 2023
Dear Catherine, thank you for your feedback, my name is Balvinder Devi I am the Compliance and Governance Manager, I am sorry to hear of your experience and I would like to apologise, I will pass your concerns onto the site manager so that we can look into your concerns further. I would like to reassure you that we are constantly looking at our telephone data and working on innovative ways to improve the waiting times. The Site Manager will be in touch with you. Many thanks Balvinder Devi Compliance and Governance Manager
-
Review titled Receptionist is unhelpful & long call waits
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 21 June 2023
My child was very unwell from vomiting all night, and when I rang the surgery, I was no. 19 in the queue. Another local surgery picked up after 5 rings, and their receptionist was extremely helpful, advising me to walk in to my registered practice to get an appointment on the same day for my child as the Practice has a duty of care to see him due to his age. If they do not have slots, I should take him to a&e as his symptoms could mean, in severe situation, appendicitis or others. So I drove to Knowle Surgery, walked in, and overheard the receptionist being quite sarcastic to an older lady. Not the way to treat patients! When it was my turn, and I explained what happened to my child, I was told point blank that there are no availability that day. I told her I was advised that the surgery had a duty of care to ensure my child is seen, and asked if they have any slots for emergencies. "No" was the answer. No help to try to find out, or ask a senior person in the surgery. She told me I needed to ring 111, not a&e. The problem was I did the 111 online Triage before I came as there was a long queue on 111 as well, and the result was to "Go to your surgery". No help at all from Knowle Surgery reception. Luckily I managed to get through to 111 and they ended up sending a note to the surgery for same day call back. Dr Webber rang back at lunch time, and after hearing what's happened, told me to bring my child straight to see him. He was very efficient and helpful, and sent my child with a referral straight to Heartlands Hospital that afternoon as he wanted to rule out appendicitis with what had happened to my child and his symptoms. Knowle Surgery used to be really good when we registered about 7-8 years ago, but it is going downhill. Not the doctors, but if we cannot get through the frontline which are the receptionist/call handlers, then no matter how good or senior the doctors are, that is no good. The receptionist (not all of them - some are lovely but there can be very unhelpful one who I unfortunately met) cannot speak to patients like this. She has to remember she is dealing with elderly and the poorly, and compassion and helpfulness should come first. Sarcasm to elderly, and being totally unhelpful when someone walks in to ask for emergency appointment after explaining the situation, is uncalled for. The Partners of Knowle Surgery needs to sort out their reception team, and GPS Healthcare needs to hire more call handlers if they are understaffed. Please make an effort - it is the healthcare business, you are dealing with sick and elderly, your staff (including first point of contact with patients) needs to be better trained.
Visited June 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 03 July 2023
Dear Patient, thank you for your feedback, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused. I would like to reassure you that we take any feedback seriously and I will let the Site Manager know so that they can investigate and discuss at site and ensure we prevent this from happening again. I would also like to reassure you all our reception staff recieve frequent training and also feedback on their performance. I would like to reiterate that we do ensure all our patients healthcare needs are met especially in emergency situations. I hope your child is feeling better now. Many Thanks Balvinder Devi Compliance and Governance Manager
-
Review titled Poor phone system
Rated 3 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 05 May 2023
I rang twice Friday afternoon. Each time was told I was 1st in the queue immediately. Phoned was picked up at 7 and 9 mins but no-one answered, all I could hear was background office noise. So I had to hang up and call back again. Total 30mins trying to get through to reception.
Visited May 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 09 May 2023
Dear Patient, thank you for your feedback, my name is Balvinder Devi I am the Compliance and Governance Manager, I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and the fact that the phone was not answered. I will send your feedback to the site manager who will be able to take a closer look at the telephone system and what happened. I would like to reassure you that we constantly monitor our telephony data and look for innovative ways to improve the service. Many Thanks Balvinder Devi Compliance and Governance Manager
-
Review titled Unable to book a forward appointment
Rated 2 stars out of 5
by Estelle Phillips - Posted on 09 May 2023
Couldn't get through as volume of calls so had a call back. I told the person on the phone I had been in a lot of pain in my foot for over two weeks (arthritis) and need a GP to give me advice. No apps for today - I said I didn't expect today, please can I book a forward app - no unable to do. Very uncaring and I have no where to go for care. This situation is so depressing! I am not demanding to be seen to day but to be seen at a time convenient to the GP's.
Visited May 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 10 May 2023
Dear Estelle Phillips, thank you for your feedback, you were offered a non urgent appointment for two weeks time on 23rd of May which meets the criteria for a non urgent appointment and you have also have had an appointment today at 9:20am. I apologise for the queue wait unfortunately after the bank holiday the demand is usually much higher, I am sorry you feel that this is not a caring service and you have no where to go for care. You were given an appointment to see the GP and have seen a GP today. I hope that the service that you have received meets your expectations. If you no longer need the appointment on the 23rd please can you cancel it. Balvinder Devi Complaints and Governance Manager
-
Review titled Strained service
Rated 2 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 04 May 2023
I have had fairly concerning health issues this week and unfortunately the service, response and general care given have not been optimal. I appreciate that services are strained and have a huge amount of respect for all of the staff and healthcare professionals at the surgery but the lack of empathy, care and the obvious stretch on services is resulting in a real concern for me. Diagnosis of my current symptoms took a long time at the end of Dec 2022, alignment with the pharmacy took a while and there has been no follow up (as promised) in terms of dosage or review. Result this week is that I had to attend a&e. Following a wait of 35 mins on the phone this morning I have been told, fairly bluntly, that there are no more appointments and that I have to ring back tomorrow. It just doesn't feel good enough for someone with my symptoms.
Visited May 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 09 May 2023
Dear Patient, thank you for your feedback, my name is Balvinder Devi I am the Compliance and Governance Manager, I am sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service you are receiving. In order for me to have a look at what the issues may be I would need your name and DOB, in the absence of this I cannot have a look at your particular case. I would like to reassure you that patient care is at the forefront of all that we do. All our reception staff have ongoing training on customer service and how to do the challenging role that they have. We look at our phone data and look at innovative ways to improve our service. Unfortunately we do not have an infinite amount of appointments and quite often they are gone quite early in the day, however we have many other clinicians who support the primary care offer both at the sites and within the locality. Many Thanks Balvinder Devi
-
Review titled Exemption practice
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 03 May 2023
Doctors are always kind, sensitively treat you. Patiently listening to your symptoms and offering the help you need. Thank you so much.
Visited April 2023
Review titled GPS Healthcare - Knowle Surgery
Replied on 09 May 2023
Dear Patient, thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to hear that you are receiving the service you expect. I will let the site manager know, who will share the feedback with colleagues many thanks Balvinder Devi Compliance and Governance Manager