Skip to main content

Stanmore House Surgery

Linden Avenue, Kidderminster, Worcestershire, DY10 3AA

Contact details and opening times

Patient ratings and reviews

Leave a review

Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about Stanmore House Surgery.


Reviews

Displaying 11 to 17 of 17

  1. Review titled Absolutely disgusted

    Rated 1 star out of 5

    by Rachel - Posted on 20 February 2024

    I don't know what has happened to our surgery since Covid but it feels like you have to jump through hoops which have been set fire to even have a hope of seeing a doctor. The receptionists quite clearly don't give a monkeys and we've had to resort to ringing 111 on numerous occasions just to actually get an appointment when the surgery keeps trying to send us to A&E for problems which quite clearly don't need to be referred there and have been told as such by 111 who clearly share our frustrations. We just need to see a doctor! It's absolutely no wonder that the NHS is in absolute shambles.

    Visited February 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Stanmore House Surgery

    Replied on 22 July 2024

    Dear Rachel, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Stanmore House Surgery. I am sorry you are experiencing difficulties obtaining an appointment at the surgery. We request that patients call as close to 8am for an on the day routine appointment. There is also the option to request a pre-bookable appointment in the future and certain appointment types are available for online booking such as routine blood tests. We also offer a sit and wait emergency clinic at 5pm every day for patients who feel their request cannot wait. We have recently implemented a GP triage system every morning from 8-10am where every appointment request is triaged by a GP to ensure patients are get the most appropriate advice/appointment. Our phone systems have also been updated to include call back option which holds your place in the queue. The average call answering time is 4minutes 1second at present. If a patient is advised to attend A&E or call 999, this is due to the nature of the symptoms you are describing and that we may not be best placed to treat you. General Practice does not specialist equipment required in an emergency. I would be happy to discuss any concerns you have should you wish to call and ask to speak to myself directly. Kind regards Rachel - Practice Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  2. Review titled Absolutely amazing surgery

    Rated 5 stars out of 5

    by Rebecca France - Posted on 15 January 2024

    I’ve just moved from Yorkshire. This surgery is amazing. They are like night and day compared to the healthcare I’ve received from my last surgery. They listen, care, are on the ball and truly care about their patients. All of the staff are a credit to the NHS. Would highly recommend. Rebecca France

    Visited January 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Stanmore House Surgery

    Replied on 16 January 2024

    Hi Rebecca, Thank you for the taking the time to leave such a kind review. We are glad your experience at Stanmore House Surgery has been positive. I will ensure your comments are passed on to all staff here at the surgery. Kind regards Rachel - Practice Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  3. Review titled Brilliant blood test

    Rated 4 stars out of 5

    by Jo McGarragh - Posted on 01 February 2024

    Blood tests are normally awkward for me as hard to find a vein. They normally take about 20mins with puncture marks in both arms. Today straight in straight out first time. Much better experience.

    Visited January 2024

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Stanmore House Surgery

    Replied on 21 February 2024

    Hi Jo, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Stanmore House Surgery. We are pleased to hear that you had a positive experience whilst visiting the surgery for a blood test. I have fed your comments back to the staff member who carried out your blood test and to the line manager. Regards Rachel - Practice Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  4. Review titled Embodies everything that is wrong with the NHS

    Rated 1 star out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 19 October 2023

    This used to be a great practice, then after Covid , things slowly started getting worse with the online appointment system being removed in favour of a backwards mad scramble for an appointment at 8am Unfortunately today I was sent a letter explaining that me and my partner now live outside the boundries and will have to find a new GP. As the NHS website suggested I am in the catchment area and I only live 1.4 miles away I phoned the surgery to be treated with 0 compassion as there is a new housing estate and the surgery have changed the boundries "as is their right" This means that people who live less than 2 miles from the surgery and have been attending for years are removed with just 30 days notice, something that is very difficult for my partner as she is a nervous with new people and particularly medical staff.

    Visited October 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Stanmore House Surgery

    Replied on 16 January 2024

    Dear Patient, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Stanmore House Surgery. We do have some online appointments available for online booking such as routine blood tests. We also have a GP now in with the reception team every morning triaging all appointment requests. For a routine on the day appointment, we advise all patients to call at 8am however, should you have an emergency and you feel you cannot wait until 8am the following day and all routine appointments have been filled, we offer an emergency sit and wait clinic at 5pm every day. Along with this, we also offer the option of booking a pre-bookable appointment in the future. I am sorry you were not happy with being asked to register with an alternative practice. This was a decision we took based on advice from our integrated care board due to the unprecedented demand on the surgery. This was a non-discriminatory exercise undertaken across all patients who were outside of our boundary area. Recruitment is an issue across the NHS and this includes General Practice and this was an unfortunate position we found the practice in and was a decision that was not taken lightly. Should you wish to discuss your concerns further, I would be happy to speak with you. Kind regards Rachel - Practice Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  5. Review titled Back to normal?

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Anonymous - Posted on 07 December 2023

    Getting an appointment at 8am has several times been almost impossible. When is the surgery opening up to its advertised appointment procedures such as online appointments, appointments booked beyond 8.30am or appointments at the surgery in person. Is covid still the factor in difficulty in accessing GP services?

    Visited July 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Stanmore House Surgery

    Replied on 16 January 2024

    Dear Patient, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for Stanmore House Surgery. I am sorry you are experiencing difficulties obtaining an appointment at the surgery. We request that patients call as close to 8am for an on the day routine appointment. There is also the option to request a pre-bookable appointment in the future and certain appointment types are available for online booking such as routine blood tests. We also offer a sit and wait emergency clinic at 5pm every day for patients who feel their request cannot wait until 8am the following day. We have recently implemented a GP triage system every morning from 8-10am where every appointment request is triaged by a GP to ensure patients are get the most appropriate advice/appointment. Our phone systems have also been updated to include call back option which holds your place in the queue. The average call answering time is 4minutes 1second at present. I would be happy to discuss any concerns you have should you wish to call and ask to speak to myself directly. Kind regards Rachel - Practice Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  6. Review titled Was very upset

    Rated 1 star out of 5

    by C Steadman - Posted on 19 April 2024

    I was registered with Stanmore Surgery since l was a child, long before the Surgery moved to Stanmore House, l believe l was 7 or 8 years old, l am now a pensioner with ill health but in all that time l have never once called them out & never had any problems at all they all seemed very nice, then out of the blue l got a letter saying l will have to find a alternative practice Surgery to register with as they have decided l live outside the boundaries' even though l have been 30 years living in my home. you state unprecedented demand on the surgery because of new builds, yet l see you advertising for new patients. To stay l felt let down is an understatement sadly would not recommend .

    Visited June 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Stanmore House Surgery

    Replied on 22 July 2024

    Dear C Steadman, Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding Stanmore House Surgery. We are sorry that your recent experience has been negative regarding being identified as living out of area. This was a decision we took based on advice from our integrated care board (ICB) due to the unprecedented demand on the surgery. This was a non-discriminatory exercise undertaken across all patients who were outside of our boundary area and was a decision that was not taken lightly. We are taking on new patients however, registration will only be accepted if the address is in our boundary. When a patient is out of area, the surgery is not obliged to provide home visits. When looking at the out of area patients, this was taken into consideration and begged the question 'is this in the best interest of the patient for continuity of care'. We feel that patients should have access to a home visit if required however, we are not in a position to offer this. I would be happy to discuss any issues you have raised. If you would like to do this, please contact the surgery via the main surgery number and ask to be put through to myself. Regards Rachel - Practice Manager

    Report as unsuitable


  7. Review titled the most stupid and pathetic GP

    Rated 2 stars out of 5

    by Florina Petre - Posted on 20 June 2023

    Today I went to wi personally to make an appointment because we don't speak English, we were not offered an interpreter, they didn't want to make an appointment for us either, they said to call even though I told them that we don't use it because we don't speak the language English. My husband was referred by the hospital to the GP yesterday, he didn't even consider him.

    Visited June 2023

    Report as unsuitable

    Review titled Stanmore House Surgery

    Replied on 22 June 2023

    Dear Florina Petre, Many thanks for your feedback. I am sorry you and your husband felt your experience at Stanmore House Surgery was less than satisfactory. I have spoken with all staff involved and listened back to the call you made. I would be happy to have a discussion with you or your husband should you wish? please call the main surgery number 01562 822647 and ask to speak to myself, Rachel Hall - Practice Manager.

    Report as unsuitable