Bedwell Medical Centre
Sinfield CL, Bedwell Cres, Stevenage, Hertfordshire, SG1 1LQContact details and opening times
Patient ratings and reviews
Leave a review
Help others by sharing your thoughts and experiences about Bedwell Medical Centre.
Reviews
-
Review titled Helpful practice
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Marie Piper - Posted on 05 April 2024
Two reception staff where very helpful on Thurs the 4th April both helped me one was at roebuck and one at bedwell I had to send photos to gp they helped by going through medical secretary's to email
Visited April 2024
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 09 April 2024
Thank you Marie for your nice comments. I will ensure this gets passed onto the staff involved. Much appreciated. Regards, Allison Seymour, Practice Manager
-
Review titled Great care
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 28 March 2024
After having an initial phone call, I was invited to an immediate appointment. The doctor was extremely thorough and understanding and i greatly appreciated the level of the care given to my son.
Visited March 2024
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 09 April 2024
Thank you for your positive comments. We very much appreciate it. Allison Seymour, Practice Manager
-
Review titled Great Practice
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Neil Saunders - Posted on 26 March 2024
Called in regard my hip and GP I saw explained what was required and arranged for me to have an X-ray to confirm what was happening. I have been a member of this practice since I moved to Stevenage and they have always responded excellently to my requirements. In recent times was having problems with a local pharmacy and the practice arranged for me to collect my prescriptions from an alternative pharmacy and the change over was seamless. I have always found all the staff helpful and polite when dealing and solving with any of my issues. In my opinion I rate the practice as 5*.
Visited March 2024
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 28 March 2024
Dear Neil, we will always try and do our best to assist where we possibly can so thank you very much for your kind words, this is much appreciated. I will ensure the staff are informed.
-
Review titled Speechless
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 11 March 2024
I’ve contacted my doctors twice this year, first time was for a lump on my belly, I booked this online 5 weeks ago after trying to get a face to face appt through reception, I have a telephone call booked in this week (not sure how a doctor will access a lump over the phone, but hey after a 5 week wait at least I have an appt). Also, last week I emailed the doctor regarding a separate issue and got a message back asking me to book a face to face appt (for doctor to want a face to face surely they must be slightly concerned) I have just phoned the reception and they have said there is no face to face appts available, I’m at a complete and utter loss of what to do next. Just speechless
Visited February 2024
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 13 March 2024
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to know further details to see if additional training is required to improve our service however as you have posted anonymously this is difficult. In general, when it is a telephone consultation, the doctors will take the history and if deemed the patient should be seen, they will ask the patient to attend. If the doctors request patients to make an appointment, they will state within a time period if they felt the patient needs to be seen sooner rather than later, if no time period has been given, then it is just a routine appointment when available. As mentioned, I would like to research into the concern you have raised further and I would be enormously grateful if you could call me at your convenience so I can obtain specifics from you. Allison Seymour, Practice Manager 01438 791391
-
Review titled great doctor
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Ann - Posted on 27 February 2024
In recent weeks I have visited Roebucks doctors on two occasions, and I have been very fortunate in seeing the same wonderful doctor (sadly I’m not able to name them) I have found them to be approachable and have never felt rushed. I feel like my concerns were listen to and taken seriously. I also felt that this doctor was very thorough and put me completely at ease and we even managed to have a laugh. This doctor is great asset to the surgery.
Visited February 2024
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 01 March 2024
Dear Ann Thank you very much for your kind words. It is very much appreciated that you have taken the trouble to write on this forum to give us your feedback. Unfortunately I do not have your full name so unable to inform the specific GP you mention but I have passed your comments to all the GPs. Many thanks once again for your positive feedback. Allison Seymour, Practice Manager
-
Review titled Best practice
Rated 5 stars out of 5
by Shanna - Posted on 09 February 2024
Been with this practice all my life. Nothing is ever to much trouble. lovely receptionist/secretarys always manage to get an appointment for me and my 6month old. Highly recommend!
Visited February 2024
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 19 February 2024
Dear Shanna, thank you very much for your kind words, it is so much appreciated. I will ensure all the staff are made aware their hard work does not go unnoticed. Thank you again.
-
Review titled Getting appointments,good luck
Rated 3 stars out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 13 February 2024
Twice in the month of February, I was held 35+ minutes only to be told no appointments, it was to get a prescription and another problem but was told no double appointments left. It's like a third world country we are living in to get an appointment and I guess writing this will probably go unseen
Visited February 2024
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 19 February 2024
Dear Patient, I am truly sorry you have had difficulty getting through on the telephone only to be told no appointments left. The volume of calls coming into the surgery at present is unprecedented but please be assured, we are trying our very best to answer them as quickly as possible. We do have a new facility now on our telephone system that informs patients when all the appointments have gone for the day so patients can choose to leave the queue depending on the urgency. I would have checked your records to see if you have now managed to get an appointment but unfortunately you have not given your name. If you would like to discuss this further with me, I would be more than happy to do so. Please do call and ask for me, Allison Seymour.
-
Review titled Awful practice, good reception service
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Anonymous - Posted on 29 November 2023
The receptionists have been very good, informative and kind each time. They seemed to be the one working part of the practice. All i need is for the gp to sign a letter confirming i'm fit to work, i will have no job if this isn't done soon enough. Despite it being a quick and easy task with fairly big ramifications, its been a month and zero progress has happened. The impression i have is that your practitioners couldn't care less about the patients and are wildly ineffective and poor at managing their work load. I've been patient but the deadline is in a few days and nothing has happened still. I'm very disappointing and betrayed by your practice that is meant to help people not set them back and put them in worse positions.
Visited November 2023
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 07 December 2023
Dear Patient, I am saddened to hear you feel you have been let down with regards to the GP not providing a letter confirming you are fit to work. In general terms this is not a letter the GP would be able to provide as it would need to be an occupational health clinician however without knowing the actual details it is hard for me to assess and help you. If you are able to call the practice and ask for me, Allison Seymour, Practice Manager, I will do my utmost to assist. I am very pleased to hear your praise for our reception team, thank you, I will pass this on to them.
-
Review titled Not helpful
Rated 1 star out of 5
by Noel John Stewart - Posted on 02 August 2023
So had my 3 year grandson very poorly phoned up at 17 10 explained how I'll but was linked with letchworth gp and was with us for few days just wanted to pop to my gp with him get checked over was told twice by reception that cos not registered here would have to take him to his gp can't see him here as not registered here Very poor and rubbish red tape rule Think the staff should think differently rather then think how can I stop this customer my grandson from coming in should think how can I help my 3 year old grandson this whole experience was disgusting service with total wrong attitude shame on you bedwell surgery and shame on you NHS
Visited August 2023
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 07 August 2023
Dear Mr Stewart I was sad to read your comments regarding the Bedwell Surgery not being able to see your grandson who was poorly. Whenever patients are required to be seen for their healthcare it is always advisable to go to their own GP where all the medical records are held and the GPs can get a full understanding of his/her general health, what medication they are on, if any, and if they have any allergies which is especially important if the GP is considering prescribing medication. We are of course able to see nonregistered patients as immediately necessary (if deemed appropriate) when they are staying out of the region and unable to return home generally because they are out of the county. However for any patients that are registered at local surgeries which we would consider areas of Letchworth, Hitchin, WGC, Baldock to be local, we would expect them to be taken to their registered GP to be treated. I am sorry you feel let down, but I hope you can understand our reasoning and very much hope your grandson has improved over the weekend and is back to his normal self.
-
Review titled Positive first impressions
Rated 4 stars out of 5
by JFG - Posted on 25 June 2023
A couple of weeks ago I decided to investigate changing to a different surgery as I was becoming increasingly disillusioned by the one I have been registered with since 2007. Two friends recommended Bedwell Surgery as being a caring, friendly Practice. I registered on Thursday 8th June. The receptionist was polite, friendly, and informative. She made me feel welcome straight away. I was given an appointment for a Health Check on Wednesday 14th June with a nurse. The nurse was again, polite, friendly, caring and informative. My BP was rather high so she suggested I checked it at home later on and call the surgery with the numbers later. When I eventually founded my BP monitor, it was too late in the day to phone. After 2 readings, last night and this morning, I decided to see if I might be lucky to have an appointment with a doctor today. I was phoned at 09.02 by a very pleasant doctor. Not only did we sort out a 7 day monitoring of my BP but after a short discussion about my general health, it was suggested I see the MSK practitioner and an appointment was made for Tuesday 27th June. I should like to thank everyone I've spoken to so far for their friendly, caring manner, for listening to me and for making me feel like a human being again instead of just a statistic.
Visited June 2023
Review titled Bedwell Medical Centre
Replied on 14 June 2024
Dear patient, apologies but a couple of comments were not responded to from the website at the time of input and I can see you were one of them. I know it is a year ago now, but thank you very much for your positive feedback. I very much hope you are still happy with our service. Regards, Allison Seymour Practice Manager